When You’re a Planner

“For I know the plans I have for you. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

I found that verse and it’s just kind of stuck with me the last few days as I’ve struggled to come to terms with some things going on in my life.

I’ve always wanted to be in control of things. And every single time I’ve tried to control outcomes, things have just gone horribly wrong. Each time I’ve tried to protect myself out of fear, the thing I’ve feared most has come to pass anyway. Every time it would happen, it would just reinforce my fears.

God recently brought someone into my life that me realize this is no way to go about life. After spending a little over a week seeking God’s counsel I’ve realized that I have to leave it all up to Him. He knows the plans he has for me. They are good plans. They are plans that include a great job, a wonderful husband, and a beautiful family. God wants these things for each of us because God is love. He seeks only ever to expand it, not to contract it. “Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God.” 1 John 4:7

I had known intellectually that God was unconditional love but I didn’t feel it until today. So I’m going to trust God’s plan for me because if God is love than it can only ever for my good.

Leave a Reply

