Don’t Fall into the Trap

You ever notice how a rough start to a morning spirals into a terrible, no-good day? Maybe you got no sleep. Or maybe you stubbed your toe getting out of bed. But something happens just as your day begins and it snowballs into an epic, “I’m going to jump off the building and I’m taking you all with me” kind of day. Okay, maybe those are just my days but you know what I mean, the day just sucks. One bad thing after another happens. Those who think we create our reality would tell you that your negative outlook from the very moment you yelled out “fuck” when you stubbed your toe created the awful day you’ve gotten. And why would that happen? Because you my friend could not let it go. Laugh it off. Smile and be happy you have toes to stub in the first place and dance your way into the bathroom to brush your teeth.

I know better than anyone else probably how difficult it can be to shake off some bad juju. I’m a born over-thinker. Something goes wrong and I want to either fix it or figure out why it happened in the first place. I have an awful time just letting things lie. Which means I know what I’m talking about from experience. Experiencing not only bad days, but bad weeks, and months, and even years! Where it has seemed and felt like no matter what I do everything goes wrong. I’m not getting the jobs I want, I’m getting rejected by people I love, I’m having bills just materialize while my bank account dematerializes, I keep getting sick, things keep breaking spontaneously and without warning. But you know what, after many afternoon cries and all out sobs in workplace bathrooms I’m going to tell you, letting that negative energy hop a ride with you is not going to help a thing. All it’s going to do is attract more shitty days.

You do not combat the darkness with more darkness you combat it with light. So we need to learn to be light. Ignore the bullies on Twitter and in your head. Something goes wrong remind yourself of all the things that are going right. And it’s okay to fail. All the greats have done it but you want to know why they were finally successful; because they didn’t let failure scare them. So you haven’t figured out what you’re going to do with the rest of your life, that’s fine as long as you’re looking. The Universe has a way of revealing your destiny when you stop thinking about it and you just start living. So don’t fall into the trap, when bad things happen, fix what you can fix, and let that icky feeling slide right off of you. I’m going to give it a go myself and see what kind of awesomeness comes my way.

Leave a Reply

