Weddings and Baby Bumps

I guess it started when I noticed that my newsfeed on Facebook had more engagement announcements, wedding photos, and baby bumps than party posts. Strewn amidst the apocalyptic visions of Trump’s America my social media feeds are now littered with baby photos. I have developed a serious case of FOMO (fear of missing out).

This last month and a half have really brought home the fact that there is a finite amount of time to get on the baby train. I am 31 years old, unmarried, and worried that my standard issued equipment may not work. It currently seems to be malfunctioning which scares me. I should go to the doctor to get checked out but I fear receiving confirmation that something is wrong and confirming that I am inadequate. baby-33

You know I’ve had lots of disappointments in life that have turned out to be opportunities. I’m just not sure I could handle the disappointment of not having a family of my own. I really want to get married and I really want to have babies.

Sometimes I feel terrible because I’m probably unduly pressuring my boyfriend. I love him and there’s just no one else I can imagine spending the rest of my life with or making little humans with. Hopefully, he understands that. Maybe we’ll get on with it soon.

Did any of you ladies out there start getting baby fever when you got in your 30s? If so, comment below. Would love to hear how you felt.

Leave a Reply

